Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

2016 Sports Awards Dinner

​Jessi Henning (12) Sportsperson of the Year
​Jessi Henning (12) and Patrick Rudd (11) have taken out the three major awards at Dalby SHS's Annual Sports Awards Dinner.
In its fifth year, the Annual Sports Awards Dinner was again a sellout with 300 staff, students and parents coming along to Dalby Leagues Club to recognise student sporting endeavours throughout 2016.
Special guest Darren Burns (former Dalby SHS student, NRL player and current Broncos Game Development Officer) spoke about how challenging it was for him to balance work as an apprentice carpenter in Sydney whilst follwing his dreams of playing Rugby League. Darren also spoke about which coaches he connected with, his current role as Broncos Game Development Officer and his next challenge - becoming a qualified teacher!
Of the night's major award recipients, 2016 Sportsperson of the year was awarded to Jessi Henning (12) for making regional representative teams across Athletics, AFL and Rugby to name just a few.  Jessi Henning (12) was also awarded the prestigeous Pierre de Coubertin Award for upholding the Olympic ideals and values.
Patrick Rudd (11) took out the Andrew McCullough "Aim for Excellence" Award for his outstanding commitment to gymnastics and will represent Australia at Las Vegas next year. 
U15 Team of the Year was awarded to U15 girls All Schools Touch team who reached the Round of 16. The Open team of the year was awarded to the Open Rugby League team for making the regional finals of the GIO Cup.
Long term PE teacher Mrs Karen Marini was recognised as the Coach of the Year for her continual work coaching students in touch and athletics.
Dalby SHS's Annual Sports Awards could not be possible without the financial support from our sponsors - Dalby Leagues Club; Dalby SHS P&C Association; Warrego Office Choice; Dalby Rural Supplies; Active Physiotherapy; Home Timber & Hardware; Wideland Ag & Construction; BMO Business Centre; Andersons Flooring; Dalby Mitsubishi & Kia; Dalby Gravels, Soils & Garden Centre and Henschell Cricket Academy.
Special thanks to the organising committee (Mr Jeff Hart; Ms Bron Henschell; Mrs Rhonda Marshall; Mrs Karen Marini; Mrs Rosanna Allen; Mrs Kym Fagg and Mrs Anne Rathmell) for going above and beyond to make the night another successful event.